bld {Breakfast}

It was an early Sunday morning when my body decided that sleep should merely be optional.  I casually made more of a ruckus than I usually do in getting dressed.  You know, things like slamming doors,  sitting down violently on the bed to put on socks, or letting the cat in the bedroom to meow loudly until he is fed because we all know there is no snooze button on a cat who wants breakfast!  And what a coincidence, my Fiance woke right up! The early morning hours of the weekend, by the way,  are the best time to take a drive around Los Angeles, precisely because you can do exactly that, drive.

{“A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap.”}

So, at 8:30 AM on a Sunday morning in Lovely Los Angeles, we did exactly that with every intention of making it a culinary adventure as well.  Our destination was BLD.   These three simple letters of the alphabet symbolize what we, as humans, thrive on in various parts of the world. . . Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner (or any combination therein such as Brunch, or Linner or even Dunch if you feel so inclined!).

Restaurant

We arrived, I’m sure, in record time to the  corner of Beverly Boulevard,  and we took a spot not too far down N. Vista Street.  The interior of the restaurant is painted in cool tones of  yellow, beige and deep blue-gray. In a very pleasant comforting sort of way, the atmosphere was airy ‘Farmhouse chic’ with clean lines, and lots of natural light.

BLD Tree Nook

They even have a very artsy nook where they display a beautiful blond colored tree branch! How Lovely, and how very feng shui of them!

{Aside}

the-best-thing-i-ever-ate-food-networkI do think it is necessary to take a semi aside here and mention just how exactly we came to discover this place.  The Food Network has this great new show: The Best Thing I Ever Ate that showcases favorite foods and restaurants of chefs.  And, take my word for it, you should never watch if you are feeling hungry or noshy in any way shape or form.  The culprit episode that lead us to this fabulous establishment was “Wake-up Call”, where BLD was featured.

**I have to say my only criticism of this concept is that you cannot search by location on the Food Network website.  So for example, if I wanted to try every restaurant in Los Angeles that this show mentions, I would have to most likely re-watch the episodes to create a list or go searching through other blogs.  Too much work Food Network! I’d say it is about time for a widget!

{But I Digress–Back to Business}

There couldn’t have been more than 5 other parties in the restaurant, and I have to say the attentiveness of our server may just have encouraged me to get out of bed early every Sunday!  After giving the menu a once or five times over, my fiance and I decided to take the Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes, featured on the Food Network, out for a spin.  In addition, we both split a pot of coffee and a Brûléed Grapefruit.

Coffee PotLet’s begin with the coffee.  It is not very often, at least in my experience, that a French press is brought to your table.  And boy was I happy.

{A little wiki-history}

“A French Press is a simple filter-less coffee brewing device that consists of a narrow cylindrical beaker, equipped with a lid and a “plunger”. The Coffee is brewed by placing the coffee and water together, leaving to brew for a few minutes, then depressing the plunger to trap the coffee grounds at the bottom of the beaker. Because the French press is a filter-less brewing method, coffee brewed with the French press is said to capture more of the coffee’s flavor and essential oils. It is also usually stronger and thicker with more sediment than drip-brewed coffee.” And in my personal opinion, the perfect way to begin your Sunday morning! Mmmm!

*          *          *          *          *          *           *          *          *           *

For those of you who are tea fanatics, a French Press can also be used in place of a tea infuser to brew loose tea!

*          *          *          *          *          *           *          *          *           *

GrapefruitAbout 5  minutes after we began sipping our warm ground goodness, out comes sunshine on a plate.  The most delectable refreshing, and unique: Brûléed Grapefruit. Now I am sure we have all, at one time or another, experienced the grapefruit half sprinkled with sugar.  You might say that this would be similar, only imagine that your regular sugared grapefruit has won the lottery.   Even my grapefruit-hating Fiance scraped his half clean with delight.  This is surely a dish I will eat again and again and again in the future!

PancakesAfter nearly consuming the rind of said citrusy jewel, out come the Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes.  I dare you to take a look at the picture to the right and not want to eat your computer screen!  The ricotta added into the batter definitely makes these hot cakes moist and creamy.  As an added bonus, I found these particular pancakes a little less sweet than your typical pancake (so when I spread them with salty butter and warm maple syrup I got that magical combination of salty and sweet), and this maple syrup was no ordinary syrup! I would gladly take up residency in the little log cabin maple syrup house pictured below (that could be me in the doorway!).  It was truly a viscous treat, and I would have loved nothing better than to drink it directly from the syrup spout.   I also managed Cabin Syrupnot to get that “wonderful” feeling of digesting rocks that you often get after you have eaten a pancake breakfast.  The blueberries were perfection, and the warm tart little capsules burst in your mouth and add the perfect fruity compliment to these delightful fluffy discs!

So remember the next time you are in Los Angeles and craving something similar to vittles, supper, breakfast, brunch, chow, dessert, din-din, dinner, eats, fare, feast, feed, grub, lunch, luncheon, mess, munchies, picnic, potluck, refection, refreshment, regalement,repast, snack, spread, tea, or even a banquet.  I would suggest you look for one of the above options at BLD.

{For Your Dining Pleasure}

Make sure to check out the special events at BLD:calendar

Every MONDAY is BARBECUE SMOKE NIGHT
Every TUESDAY is FRIED CHICKEN NIGHT
Every WEDNESDAY is HOUSE MADE RAVIOLI NIGHT
Every THURSDAY is FLATBREAD NIGHT

*The next MILKSHAKE MADNESS is Sunday September 27th, 2009. Pastry Chef Mariah Swan whips up her ice creamy concoctions at the counter. The madness begins at 5:00pm!

Take a BLD PICNIC BOX to your next outdoor concert, film or day at the park or beach filled with all your BLD favorites.

I would gladly visit BLD again to sample L and D.  Yet, purely on a breakfast scale, I would have to give this restaurant my highest rating of 10 out of 10 possible points!

{Till next time: Eat Well, Stay Safe, Be Happy!}

BLD on Urbanspoon

