Welcome to The Cupboard Mouse!

I began my education in linguistics, and through my many travels I came to realize that  in order to even begin to understand a new language, an individual must look beyond the grammar and vocabulary of that language, and become socialized into its culture. The culinary intricacies of a particular ethnic group, society, or even small enclave of individuals breathe life into a particular culture.

The Cupboard Mouse Gets Philosophical
The Cupboard Mouse Los Angeles restaurants

Let me, for just a moment, apply my lovely linguistic knowledge to slightly more epicurean concepts. In H. Douglas Brown’s Sociocultural Factors in Teaching Language Minority Students he discusses the concept of culture in the assertion that  “Culture is a way of life.  Culture is the context within which we exist, think, feel, and relate to others.  It is the “glue” that binds a group of people together”.  Keeping this concept in mind, Brown continues:  “A language is a part of a culture and a culture is part of a language: the two are intricately interwoven such that one cannot separate the two without losing the significance of either language or culture”.

And while this is, in my personal belief totally true, we can’t ignore the probable fact (yes I used ‘fact’) that culture is so much more than language,  any given ethnicity, or religious beliefs.  Culture is simply the air that we breath, the nourishment we seek out, and the land that we work. . .  In essence Culture is how a given group has learned to live.  We set a goal of survival, and some how, culture is the miraculous by-product.

The many facets of a given culture must be examined in this interconnected way, looking at every aspect as inseparable, with a specific emphasis that nothing within a given culture is a stagnant entity. But, I digress, and I leave this most complex evaluation and turn it over to Mr. Hemingway. . .who seems to say it best.

“As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.”
Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

Join me in my exploration of the most literal form of culture. . . Food!

FoodBlogBlog

